You are here

Alumnus Brian Hopkins receives 2015 Haimo Teaching Award

Submitted by Rose Choi on January 1, 2015 - 3:00am
Haimo teaching award winners
Haimo teaching award winners—(from left) Brian Hopkins, Shahriar Shahriari, and Judith Covington—with MAA President Bob Devaney

At the Joint Mathematical Meetings in San Antonio earlier this month, Brian Hopkins received the Mathematical Association of America's Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics, the same award that Jim Morrow was given in 2008. Hopkins, a professor at St. Peter's University in Jersey City, New Jersey, obtained his PhD at UW in 1997 under the supervision of Monty McGovern. In the award citation, Brian is described as "a master teacher with a genuine desire to see all of his students succeed, with a knack for posing problems and the ability to create an atmosphere of mutual respect and exploration in his classroom." In responding, Brian listed among his inspirations "John Sullivan (appreciation of historical sources), Virginia Warfield (teaching informed by education research), and James King (well-used technology)." This is Brian's second MAA award. In 2005, he and co-author Robin Wilson shared the George Pólya Award for articles of expository excellence for their paper on Euler's Konigsberg bridge problem.