You are here

Recent News

Jim Morrow
May 8, 2024
A message from the family: For those who were unaware, Jim Morrow passed away from congestive heart failure on April 2, 2024. To honor his wishes and celebrate his life, we will be hosting an open house at his Laurelhurst home of 50 years on Saturday, May 11th from 1pm-4pm. Refreshments and light bites will be provided. (He wanted it to be a happy occasion!) Wear whatever suits you. He would gladly welcome you into his house simply because you are you. Please feel free to spread the word. We... Read more
"Translation Surfaces" by Jayadev S. Athreya and Howard Masur
April 19, 2024
Excerpts from Caglar Uyanik's AMS Bookshelf review of Translation Surfaces by Jayadev S. Athreya and Howard Masur "The study of translation surfaces and their moduli spaces has seen enormous growth in recent decades, and results in related areas have been recognized with prestigious awards such as Fields Medals, Breakthrough Prizes, and Clay Research Awards. There are several excellent surveys on this... Read more
Interview at CIRM: Jayadev ATHREYA
April 19, 2024
Created in 2013, the Jean Morlet Chair is a scientific program that welcomes internationally-acclaimed researchers for a six-month residence in the south of France, to conduct collaborative work in residence with a local project leader based at Aix-Marseille University and a thriving community of mathematicians. This international program aims to enhance synergies between academic departments and promotes links between established academics and... Read more
Integer Linear Programming by Kristina Armitage-Lede
January 30, 2024
Integer linear programming can help find the answer to a variety of real-world problems. Now researchers have found a much faster way to do it. Thomas Rothvoss, in collaboration with Victor Reis of the Institute for Advanced Study, published their paper The Subspace Flatness Conjecture and Faster Integer Programming which ... Read more
 Cynthia Vinzant
November 2, 2023
Cynthia Vinzant is among the forty mathematical scientists from around the world who have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2024. The Fellows program, in its twelfth year, recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. 
Cynthia Vinzant
July 21, 2023
Gunther Uhlmann and Cynthia Vinzant received the ... Read more
Thomas Rothvoss
May 19, 2023
The 2023 Gödel Prize is awarded to Thomas Rothvoss for his paper "The matching polytope has exponential extension complexity." He shares this award with Samuel Fiorini, Serge Massar, Sebastian Pokutta, Hans Raj Tiwary and Ronald de Wolf for their paper "Exponential Lower Bounds for Polytopes in Combinatorial Optimization." The Gödel... Read more
Gunther Uhlmann
May 2, 2023
The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of 120 members and 23 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Gunther Uhlmann was a recipient of this honor. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related... Read more
Lilia Chebbi
April 20, 2023
UW Math undergrad, Lilia Chebbi, is among the Husky 100, an honor given to 100 undergraduate and graduate students from all three UW campuses who are actively involved in applying what they learn to make a difference on campus, as well as, in their communities. Speaking on her experience at UW, Chebbi says "Throughout my time at the UW, I combined mathematical and technical studies with Interdisciplinary Honors to fulfill my... Read more