You are here

Recent News

Dmitriy Drusvyatskiy
September 30, 2019
Dmitriy Drusvyatskiy and Damek Davis (Cornell) are the joint recipients of the 2019 INFORMS Optimization Society Prize for Young Researchers for their outstanding paper in optimization (details forthcoming).  This prize serves as an esteemed recognition of promising colleagues who are at the beginning of their academic or industrial career.
Isaac Namioka photographed by Paul R. Halmos in 1985
September 30, 2019
Isaac Namioka was born in northern Japan on April 25th, 1928. His family moved to Himeji, where they were one of the few Christian families living in Japan. His father was the principal of a Christian girls’ school. The household included his grandmother, who was originally from France. After receiving his Electrical Engineering degree at Kobe University, Isaac moved to the United States and, through connections with missionaries in the Baptist Church, was able to attend college and... Read more
Matthew Junge | The Monti
September 26, 2019
Matthew Junge shares his experience teaching at the women's prison in Monroe at The Monti's "Man Behind the Curtain" Show on June 16, 2018 at The ArtsCenter in Carrboro, NC.
Timea Tihanyi watching over an artwork being built using a 3D printer.
August 1, 2019
Timea Tihanyi with Wanna Huang (BA, Interdisciplinary Visual Arts, 2018), creating an artwork with a 3D printer. “It’s not like a class, where the instructor knows the answer,” says Huang, one of many interns involved with Tihanyi's research. “We’re finding out the answer together, discovering whether something works or not.”   Media credit: Mark Stone/University of Washington   In a studio filled with ceramic artworks, Timea Tihanyi concentrates on creating a porcelain vessel.... Read more
Rekha Thomas, UW
July 1, 2019
The Robert B. Warfield, Jr., term faculty fellowship was established in 2014 to provide funds to members of the faculty to support their research. Steffen Rohde held the fellowship from 2014 to 2017; Rekha Thomas is the current holder. In contrast to an endowed faculty fellowship, which is funded permanently through the income of an endowment, a term fellowship is funded for a fixed number of years by the direct gift of the required funds. For its first five years, the Warfield fellowship has... Read more
Read more
June 12, 2019
Tatiana Toro, profess of mathematics, on her most important contribution–when her mentees achieve their goals... Read more
Tatiana Toro – Distinguished Graduate Mentor 2019
April 25, 2019
Article courtesy of the UW Graduate School | Student & Alumni Profiles Dr. Tatiana Toro’s legacy as a mathematician will include impressive theorems, several awards and many accolades. But Dr. Toro, Craig McKibben and Sarah Merner Professor of Mathematics, insists that her most important... Read more
Kellie MacPhee photographed by Dorothée Brand
April 17, 2019
Graduate student Kellie MacPhee was recognized for her exemplary contributions to the community both on- and off-campus. The Husky 100 celebrates students who make connections between experiences and classroom learning. Husky 100 students are engaged in their communities, work at becoming effective leaders, and attempt to solve difficult and ambiguous challenges. To learn more about this recognition, visit... Read more
Read more
April 5, 2019
Simons Foundation awards provide mathematicians and theoretical physicists funding to extend academic leaves to focus on research to support significant advances in their disciplines.Featured on 
Photo of Tatiana Toro
March 18, 2019
Tatiana Toro is a 2019 Simons Fellow. The Simons Foundation’s fellowship program, which began in 2012, is designed to extend and thereby make sabbatical research leaves more productive, recognizing that sabbatical research leaves from classroom teaching and administrative obligations can provide strong intellectual stimulation and lead to increased creativity and productivity in research. Tatiana... Read more