You are here

Faculty Meeting

Tuesday, September 27, 2022 - 11:00am
PDL C-38 & Zoom


  1. Call to Order
  2. Chair's Remarks
  3. Announcements
    • Appointments Committee - Viray
  4. Committee Reports
  5. New Business
  6. Executive Session
  7. Adjournment


The regular meeting of the faculty of the Department of Mathematics was held in-person in C-38 Padelford Hall and virtually via Zoom at 11:00am PST, September 27, 2022. John Palmieri, Chair, presided at the meeting. Rose Choi was recording secretary.

The meeting began with approval of the previous meeting’s minutes.

Chair's Remarks

The department is conducting two non-tenure track searches—one for postdocs and the other for an assistant teaching professor. Although there is not a tenure-track search this year, an Appointments Committee has still been formed with Bianca Viray chairing.

There is no update on the Milliman speaker this year. John will make an announcement once someone has been confirmed.

Incoming faculty were introduced:

This year’s Graduate Student Representatives are Paige Helms and Kevin Liu.

Sara Billey has stepped down as the Graduate Admissions Director and Neal Koblitz will be taking on the position this year. Jenni Taggart, Rekha Thomas, and Max Lieblich are continuing in their roles. Andy Loveless is the new TA Coordinator for the department.

Gunther Uhlmann now holds the Phelps Professorship, Bianca Viray the McKibben-Merner Professorship (joining Max Lieblich), Jarod Alper and Jayadev Athreya are the new Klee Faculty Fellows, and Dima Drusvyatskiy is the inaugural Tseng Faculty Fellow.


The Appointments Committee will work towards streamlining the appointments process and creating a more manageable workload for the committee while retaining the positive elements that have enabled our successful recent hires. The committee would like feedback and suggestions from the faculty (email Bianca Viray or submit an anonymous comment via a form to come).

The Department Picnic is today at 5pm at the Rainier Vista (lawn by the fountain). Members are welcome to walk over together from the departmental lounge.


There being no new business, the meeting concluded at 11:11am.

Event Type: 
Event Subcalendar: