You are here

Faculty Meeting

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 3:30pm to 4:30pm
PDL C-36


  1. Call to Order
  2. Announcements
    • Graduate Travel Funds – Isabella Novik
  3. Committee Reports
    • Internal Chair Selection Committee – Ken Bube
  4. New Business
  5. Executive Session
    • Prelim Results – Isabella Novik                   
  6. Adjournment



The regular meeting of the faculty of the Department of Mathematics was held in C-36 Padelford Hall at 3:30 PM, October 10, 2017. Ron Irving, Chair, presided at the meeting. Rose Choi was recording secretary.

Chair’s Announcements

Professor Irving described the College’s new procedure for implementing the policy that a faculty member being paid on state funds during a given quarter should be present. Under the procedure, anyone anticipating being away for more than eight consecutive instructional days must obtain approval in advance for the absence. A memo to the chair explaining the travel plans should suffice. The chair will then approve (or not) and get approval from the divisional dean.

Professor Irving will send out the usual biennial email to faculty describing availability of funds for travel, research, and teaching support. One new feature will be a pool of funds supporting seminars.

The 2018 Department Meeting Schedule was approved.

By Section 24-71 of the faculty code, every two years the department must approve a policy on retentions. Professor Irving presented the current policy—that the chair consult on retentions with the Personnel Committee—and it was approved.

Section 24-55 of the code requires that the faculty approve a procedure by which the chair determines merit and salary recommendations for full professors. Department procedure has been that the chair consults with the Personnel Committee on full professors outside the committee, and the chair decides on recommendations for full professors on the committee. The faculty approved continued use of this policy.

The department has traditionally delegated hiring of part-time lecturers to the chair, who consults with members of the Program Committee (heads of undergraduate and graduate programs, director of student services). This is not quite consistent with Section 24-52 of the code, according to which authority may be delegated by majority vote to an elected committee of voting faculty. It was proposed that the department create a new Lecturer Appointment Committee to which authority for recommending part-time lecturer appointments be delegated. This was approved. It was further proposed and approved that Ron Irving, Isabella Novik, and Rekha Thomas serve as members of the committee.

Professor Irving provided some information on raise funds provided to colleges by the Provost’s Office for raises under the terms of Executive Order 64.

Graduate Program Committee

Professor Novik reminded faculty of the availability of travel funds for graduate students.

Internal Chair Selection Committee 

The internal chair selection committee—Ken Bube (chair), Steffen Rohde, Bianca Viray, and Jenni Taggart—will be meeting informally with faculty and staff to discuss the following questions:

    • What is the current "temperature of the department" from your perspective?  What is going well?  What should be improved?  What directions should the department be taking?
    • What do you think should be the key qualities of a chair?  What issues should the chair focus on in the near future?  Long term?
    • Who do you suggest as chair?  Now?  In 5 years?  In 10 years?  Are you willing to be considered?  Now?  In 5 years?  In 10 years?

There being no new business, the meeting passed into executive session at 4:04pm.


Event Type: 
Event Subcalendar: